Banner

Newest

Older

Email


Baseball for Casual Fans Archive


About me


my pictures

www.flickr.com



Linky McLinksALot


chicago blogs

chicago bloggers

Chicago Blog Map

Registered!

Blogarama



2005-06-20 - 7:35 p.m.

Jen's Great Idea:

Jen, the governor of Jennsylvania, had a really fun idea of doing a photo-essay-type thing about a typical dog-walk route. This appeals to both the geography nerd and the dog lover in me, so here goes...
Click on the picture below to go to the flickr set of our walk today.


Ogie's walk


No, I didn't have time to grab the camera...

My husband, his sister (K.), her husband (A.), and I were heading into the city from the suburbs on the Stevenson Expressway.

Just driving along. Nothing too exciting was happening.

Until...

Me: "Boy, is that a pink VW Bug. Wait, are those devil horns on top?"

A.: "I think they might be ears."

K.: "What is that on the back? Is that a tail?!?"

My husband: "Holy shit, it's a curly pig tail."

Me: "Oh, well now that we're close enough, you can tell that the license plate says, 'JIMS PIG.'"

(we start to pass the car)

A.: "Oh, my lord, he's wearing a hat with a little stuffed pig on it."

K.: "The headlights have little blue eyes!"

Me: "AND THERE'S A SNOUT."


Best Show Ever.

Remember when I was talking about the geeked-out TV show obsessions I've had in the past? Well, I didn't even think to mention the one that is better (worse?) than any of those.

Due South, about a Mountie who ends up in Chicago solving crimes, makes me drool a little. I can't even describe how much I love this show. The problem is that it only ran for a few years, starting in 1994. I taped it obsessively in the late '90s when it ran on TNT in syndication, but lost some of the tapes and the rest were really crappy picture quality. I've been checking Amazon for a while, waiting for the DVDs. There were DVDs out in Canada, but they were something like $80 Canadian -- a little too much for me even though I was sorely tempted. The DVDs have fallen off my radar a little lately.

So when I walked into Best Buy on Sunday with my husband to look for a Father's Day present for my father-in-law, I wasn't looking for anything for myself. Well, that's not true. I was looking for a little case for the digital camera. It gets dinged up travelling around with me all of the time.

My husband had just picked out Season One of the original Dragnet and admonished me, "Now, I'm sure he'll let you borrow it. So we can't get it now, ok?" I agreed that the plan made sense and looked down at the floor.

Suddenly I heard angels singing and the rattling cacophony of Best Buy quieted. Lo and behold! Due South! Season one on DVD! FOR $21.99 AMERICAN!

I sat down on the floor next to it (at this point, I began to regret my slightly melodramatic nature as I sat down so hard my butt hurt for an hour) and made some (fairly) soft squealing sounds. My husband laughed at me, but at that point the DVDs and I were staring lovingly into each others' eyes so we didn't care.

Besides -- he gets each season of The Simpsons on DVD the very day it comes out. And they cost more. So there's not really too much he can say...

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Lutheran Tidbit of the Day @ www.oldlutheran.com


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!