Banner

Newest

Older

Email


Baseball for Casual Fans Archive


About me


my pictures

www.flickr.com



Linky McLinksALot


chicago blogs

chicago bloggers

Chicago Blog Map

Registered!

Blogarama



2005-04-01 - 3:50 p.m.

Is to Engrish the funny?

Has everyone seen Engrish.com? Engrish never fails to delight. It's the opposite of Americans' tendency to get tattoos of Chinese or Japanese characters that they think mean something really deep like, "I love you," but instead say something nonsensical like, "I forever you."

It's wonderful because it makes no sense, but it's done mainly by the Japanese (the Chinese aren't as intrigued by Western culture as a rule) to make products seem cool. Read the FAQ at Engrish.com for more.

Now that I have the introduction out of the way, I have to share some of my husband's brilliant photos from China and Japan. He took both funny and beautiful shots, but only the funny is going up here. There are over 100 pics -- I have to limit myself somehow...


Cable Car Warning


Cultural Relic


China Wine List
This one isn't as self-explanatory. It's a wine list in a restaurant (that's also why it's blurry and dim).


Trash Can


Get Off Section?


Hi, Merky!


Reserved for...


White Trash


Pot Delivery Service


And finally... Not Engrish... But a guaranteed means of brightening up your day...

Behold: Pandas Doing It.

Happy Pandas

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Lutheran Tidbit of the Day @ www.oldlutheran.com


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!