Banner

Newest

Older

Email


Baseball for Casual Fans Archive


About me


my pictures

www.flickr.com



Linky McLinksALot


chicago blogs

chicago bloggers

Chicago Blog Map

Registered!

Blogarama



2005-03-17 - 1:24 p.m.

My poor husband.

He doesn't feel good and is on the other side of the planet. And I want to feed him chicken soup and saltines! I'm being stifled in my wifely duties! Must - fight - freakishly - strong - nurturing - instinct.

Mmmm... Chicago photos...

One of my referring pages yesterday was Chicago Snapshot. I'm not quite sure how since I didn't see my link anywhere (computer-savvy people -- what does that mean? I don't get it!), but I'm so glad because the site rules! It's very much the type of urban photography I love (more out of the way things than simply skyline/postcard shots), so go there. Also, there seems to be a bit of a South Side bias which always charms me of course.

To My Darling Computer

You know I love you. You work well, are portable, have many of my favorite programs (I love you, Gmail Notifier and Firefox) installed on you, and just got lots of pretty new RAM.

But could you PLEASE stop opening web pages over large paragraphs of diary-goodness (yes, that's debatable. Bear with me) and therefore losing everything since the last saved draft? I can't remember more than a couple of seconds in the past, but do I really need to fear your wrath enough to save my changes EVERY SINGLE SENTENCE?

Kiss kiss. Love you.

~L.

Daily Dose of Dog

My dog has decided that it's my fault.

He has gotten a walk in the morning, another one in the afternoon, and then an evening car ride EVERY single night this week. Sounds like heaven, right? Lots of treats on the walk, someone picking up his poop, plenty of other dogs to bark at out the window of the car.

But he has also noticed that his other owner (you know, the Cool One? The one who lets the dog gnaw on his arms while pretending to be in a boxing match with the jumping animal?) seems to have left. Permanently. And only the Boring One with the leash and treats is left. And the stupid Boring One won't let him bite her arms. Or wrestle on the floor.

The result of the dog missing his other, cooler owner is as follows:

1. Have fun on walks! And car rides! And when new people are over to be jumped upon!
2. (Boring Owner sits down, tired (because is a pansy), on couch immediately after a nice long walk) "whine whine whine"
3. (Boring Owner ignores so as not to reward the behavior) "Whine Whine Whine"
4. (Boring Owner continues to ignore) "WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE WHINE"
5. (Boring Owner goes into bathroom to avoid acknowleding unacceptable behavior) "WHINE!!!! run run run CRASH!!! walk walk walk lay down quiet"

That crash? Was the end table in the front room. The one with the lamp, some coasters, and about 1/4 of my chocolate malt that I had been driven away from by the incessant whining. The carpet paid the price for my valiant attempts to follow the policies of positive reinforcement.

The dog is convinced that I drove the Cool Owner away. Or am hiding him in a closet somewhere. I just hope the house can survive 12 more days...

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Lutheran Tidbit of the Day @ www.oldlutheran.com


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!