Banner

Newest

Older

Email


Baseball for Casual Fans Archive


About me


my pictures

www.flickr.com



Linky McLinksALot


chicago blogs

chicago bloggers

Chicago Blog Map

Registered!

Blogarama



2005-02-04 - 11:50 a.m.

-Extremely necessary addition to the favorite views list:
The Orange Line between the Halsted and Roosevelt stops. More specifically (and probably only useful to those who know the area well, but hey, it could be useful...), between 18th and State. It�s always one of the cooler views in town (for the lucky few who fly into Midway then take the el to the Loop!) because it�s the skyline from the perfect angle. No disrespect meant to all of the from-out-on-Lake-Michigan shots, but it manages to make the buildings seem far more piled-on-top-of-each-other and artistic. At sunrise, though, it FAR surpasses all of the other favorites.
Choices include:
-the exciting sun-glow-off-the-windows-and-glass-buildings (always a winner)
-gray, cold, snowy, but imposing
-and my extra-special-favorite (today�s! It was like winning the cool-view lottery!) � the lots of translucent fog that gets lighter until it disappears right at the top of the Sears Tower, so the only part of the skyline with sunrise-y bright glowing colors was its antennae.

Okay, now that I�m done drooling on myself. I think I may need to get less excited about daily events?

ACK! I think I just got the worst song ever in my head for NO apparent reason. The one (I think it�s by Bette Midler) that goes, �some say love, it�s like a river...� and makes me want to insert something suction-y into my ear to remove it. Hmmm... I don�t think I�ve heard or thought of that song for around 10 years when an acquaintance of mine performed it at the Pops Concert in high school. Where did it come from? Maybe I�ve at least gotten it into someone else�s head � I think that may be proven to be the only way to cure it? Must think of new non-horrible song...


-Some fun web sites
I�ve decided that I spend too much time on Gapers Block . They rock � go there now especially if you live in the Chicagoland area, but I get somewhat grouchy when they don�t update often enough which may be a sign of addiction. I spend a lot of time nodding in agreement when I go there � it�s all about feeling validated.

I love this web site. I looked out the window this morning on the el between the Washington/Wells and Clark/Lake stops and saw a little post with a sign that called it a �stinger.� It looked like it had little gas pump nozzles attached to it. So since I�d never noticed that before (I almost always have a book on the train, but right now I�m between books and can�t decide what to read next...) I went here and discovered the detailed answer. Sometimes I just love the internet.

previous - next

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com



Lutheran Tidbit of the Day @ www.oldlutheran.com


about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!